PRESS RELEASE

Water: Guerrini reappointed as President of WAREG, the European water regulators association

Milan, 11 November 2020 - Andrea Guerrini, member of the ARERA Board, was reappointed as President of WAREG, the European Association of Water Regulators, at the 21st General Assembly of the Association, held today online due to the COVID-19 emergency. The two years term, renewed after his 2018 appointment, confirms the important role of ARERA in the regulation of water services in Europe.

The Assembly supports an ambitious programme aimed at improving WAREG's position on the European and international scene, as a leading partner of national and European operators and institutions. Regulators are willing to provide their technical experience and sectoral skills to achieve the European objectives in the Green New Deal and the circular economy, in a reference context characterised by the pandemic emergency and, at the same time, by a process of revision of the regulatory framework initiated by the European Commission. In the afternoon, the European Commission, with Director Veronica Manfredi, and the representatives of Eureau, Aquapubblica and Politecnico delle Marche joined the assembly.

"For the next two years, WAREG will be committed to affirming the importance of the role of regulation in the water sector" said Andrea Guerrini "Regulators will be at the disposal of political decision-makers in order to achieve Europe's ambitious sector recovery objectives, by means of appropriate incentives and continuous sector monitoring. I am certain that the technical skills of our associates will contribute to a more effective European law-making process in this delicate sector".

WAREG is the association of regulators (some of them independent authorities such as ARERA, other ministerial offices or agencies) responsible for the regulation of water systems in Europe (in all 31, of which 26 Members and 5 observers¹) based in Milan at ARERA.

Established in 2014 on the initiative of a group of sector authorities, including in particular the Italian authority, the main objectives are cooperation between regulators in the water sector, the promotion of common principles and a harmonised and stable regulatory framework at European level within the Community institutions.

¹ WAREG members are: ANRE - National Agency for Energy Regulation (Moldova); ANRSC - Romanian Authority for Public Services (Romania); ARERA (Italy); CRU - Commission for Regulation of Utilities (Ireland); ECA - Estonian Competition Authority (Estonia); ERRU - Water Regulatory Authority (Albania); ERSAR - Water and Waste Services Regulation Authority (Portugal); ERSARA - Water and Waste Services Regulation Authority of Azores (Azores/Portugal); EWRC - Energy and Water Regulatory Commission (Bulgaria); GNERC - Georgian National Energy and Water Supply Regulatory Commission (Georgia); HEA - Hungarian Energy and Public Utility Regulatory Authority (Hungary); KFST - Competition and Consumer Authority (Denmark); MEDDE - Ministry for the Ecological and Inclusive Transition (France); MITECO - Ministry for Ecological Transition (Spain); NCC - National Commission for Energy Control and Prices (Lithuania); NIAUR - Northern Ireland Utility Regulator (Northern Ireland/GB); PSRC - Public Services Regulatory Commission (Armenia); PUC - Public Utilities Commission (Latvia); REGAGEN - Energy Regulatory Agency (Montenegro); REWS - Regulator for Energy and Water Services (Malta); SSW - Special Secretariat for Water (Greece); VMM - Flanders Environment Agency (Flanders/Belgium); VVU - Council for Water Services (Croatia); WICS - Water Industry Commission for Scotland (Scotland/GB); WSRA - Water Services Regulatory Authority of Kosovo (Kosovo). WAREG observers are: BRUGEL (Region of Brussels/Belgium); Ministry of the Environment, Poland; Ministry of Forests and Water, Turkey; Swedish Water and Wastewater Association (Sweden); OFWAT (England and Wales/GB).